Board of Review (Code ch 17.1)

The Board of Review shall consist of the village president or his/her designee, three trustees of the village board, who shall be annually appointed at the board’s organizational meeting, and a Board of Review certified clerk. The village president shall make the appointments, subject to confirmation of the village board at said organizational meeting. Compensation for the members of the Board of Review shall be as established by the village board at the organizational meeting in April.The Board shall carefully review and examine the assessment roll and correct all apparent errors in description or computation and shall add omitted property. The Board shall not raise or lower the assessment of any property except as provided by law.

In accordance with Wis. Stats. 70.47(3)b, the village board does hereby exercise its right to designate hours for the annual Board of Review proceedings other than those set forth ion Code 70.47(3)a. The Board may adjourn from day to day or from time to time, until such time as its business is completed, provided that adequate notice of each adjournment is given. The Board shall meet annually at any time during the 30-day period beginning on the 2nd Monday of May.

Board of Appeals (Code ch 17.2)

The Board of Appeals shall be appointed as specified in Wis. Stats. 62.23(7)e, and shall consist of five citizen members and two alternate members appointed by the village president, subject to confirmation by the village board, for staggered terms of three years. The members shall serve with such compensation as determined by the village board and shall be removable by the village board for cause upon written charges and upon public hearing. The village president shall designate one of the members as chairperson.The Board of Appeals shall have the powers as set forth in Code ch 340.

All meetings of the Board shall be held at the call of the chairperson and at such other times as the Board may determine. All meetings shall be open to the public and the Board shall keep minutes of its proceedings.


Plan Commission (Code ch 17.3)

The Plan Commission shall consist of two village trustees and four appointed residents of the village. This Commission will also include the village president and/or the village vice president or person designated as such by the village president.The Commission shall make, adopt and, as necessary, amend, extend or add to the Village Comprehensive Plan. It may consider any applicable matters referred to it and make reports and recommendations concerning the Plan and development of the village to the village board.


Standing Committees

Standing committees of the village are appointed by the village president, subject to confirmation by the village board and shall consist of three members of the village board. The appointments to each committee shall be made at the annual organizational meeting of the board. Standing committees shall review such matters as may be referred to them by the village board and shall submit recommendations for board action (Code 103.4)

No person not a resident of and not residing in the Village of Lena shall be appointed to any regular or standing committee of the village board. (Code 17.5)

  • Finance Committee
  • Personnel & Wage Committee
  • Public Safety Committee
  • Public Works Committee
  • Weeds Committee
  • Promotion Committee